REVIEWS




Going Dutch
Jul 11, 2024
"Copland writes, directs and produces Going Dutch (as well as starring) and it’s clear this wearing of many hats has not diminished the end product, which is a pitfall for many other filmmakers who attempt the same. The performances of Copland and Behar are excellent, creating a winning chemistry with relative ease. Their initial meeting is tender and fraught with anxiety for both characters and as they strike up an adventure together we see this evolve into a romantic beginning. " 

Chris Olson, UK Film Review



Fiji
April 7, 2024
"The building of tension in this piece works well, and I really started to care about Sam and Nic’s adorable, if not a bit fucked-up, relationship. Jack Copland is compelling as Sam, bringing a delightful deer-in-the-headlights quality to the role. He’s gripping in more vulnerable moments, and frolicsome in his comedic bits, such as when he prances around the room belting the ‘60’s hit ‘I Think We’re Alone Now.’" 

Andrea Perez, Intermission

"From the moment of Sam’s (Copland)clumsy entrance, we watch as the duo create a rom-com bubble of Fiji time good vibes. Copland and Lazar play off one another beautifully: they make an odd yet endearing couple. The sharply acted Fiji plumbs the outer limits of consent and the nature of romantic relationships by asking whether symbiotic connection makes it possible for you to choke down terminal transgression . . . even for just half a second. "​

Scott Sneddon, Sesay Arts Magazine

"Copland and Lazar have solid, compelling chemistry. Of the two, I found myself most drawn to Copland’s Sam. And not so much because he’s the potential victim; the script attributes more mystery to his motivations than with Nic, and Copland is so cagey and withholding despite being the more vulnerable and emotionally forthcoming of the pair."​

Istvan Dugalin, Istvan Reviews






Three Men in a Boat
July 30, 2023

"A highlight of many is the men’s attempt to navigate their way through the Hampton Court Maze, in cartoonish unison as a result of Miner’s hilarious direction, and some standout clownishness from Harris (Copland). On the night I attended it often felt as though Harris was the most established personality in the production." 

Sarah Jean Abernethy, Intermission

"Each of the three offer up distinct and contrasting personalities and have plenty of charm individually and as a threesome. Copland’s portraits of a crypt keeper and several locals with conflicting big fish stories are also a delight."​

Istvan Dugalin, Istvan Reviews

"Harris, played by Jack Copland, is naïve but thoroughly optimistic and positive. He is the most agile of the cast playing a variety of comic accents as a hilarious train supervisor and a variety of English fops in the “fish story.” His comic artistry is best established in a send-up of various Gilbert and Sullivan numbers that barely get off the ground."​

Dave Rabjohn, Our Theatre Voice




Screwball Comedy
August 17, 2022
"Katherine Cappellacci as Mary and Jack Copland as Jeff are both hilarious as the competing reporters."​

Mary Alderson, Entertain This Thought



Three Ordinary Men
June 14, 2022
"The actors are very well cast and offer emotionally grounded, thoughtful, and empathetic performances. When they speak, the words seem to come from their mouths for the first time; when they listen, they really are listening. There is welcome and fresh humour in early exchanges in which they navigate the integration of their existing relationships... Adams-Thompson, Claxton, and Copland play the final scene in which the men comfort and say goodbye to one another with complete emotional commitment, weeping freely, clutching each other’s hands, bent over with fear. On the night I attended, the production had so successfully invited investment that it felt like the whole theatre was united in pain and anger."

Karen Fricker, Intermission Magazine

"Three Ordinary Men presents us with very strong portrayals, brought to the stage by very strong actors, detailing the last day of the men’s lives... Copland’s performance is bright and vibrant, and a good contrast."

Paula Citron, Ludwig Van Toronto

"As I exited The Theatre Centre opening night, I felt tears welling in my eyes in thinking further about playwright Steven Elliott Jackson’s extremely moving premiere of ‘Three Ordinary Men’.... The performances remain consistently strong as Messrs. Claxton, Adams-Thompson and Copland solidly and emotionally demonstrated what it means to work as a true ensemble. There were moments when I sat forward in my chair as I was riveted by the engrossing plot unfolding in front of me. A quick look around at other audience members and I noticed several of them were doing the exact same thing as I did. There are some excellent monologues delivered so movingly."

Joe Szekeres, Our Theatre Voice

"The actors portraying these three men are anything but ordinary... Jack Copland plays Andy, a bright-eyed New Yorker who is very enthusiastic about his first trip with Mickey but has to come to grips with the reality of life in the deep south. All three actors gave downright stellar performances; their chemistry on stage together was mesmerizing. You could tell their dynamic as soon as they got in the car with one another and it was a delight to watch them go through this ordeal together and see that dynamic change. Each character goes on their own emotional journey throughout the play and each actor in his turn embodied those changes masterfully. I cannot adequately express how enthralled I was by these performances. In the final moments of the play, when their fate is truly sealed, they truly had me in tears."

Janine Marley, A View from the Box




Patchface
July 29, 2021
"All the actors, as stated earlier, are exceptionally skilled in this performance. There is a natural chemistry between them all, especially Copland and Holstein as the strained married couple. This shows in how they describe their mundane routines and how disconnected they feel from one another, facing tragic events which pull them further apart. Their conversations are painful, cold, and awkward and you believe every moment of it."

Amanda Cosby-Nesbitt, Steel City Girl Reviews

"The three featured players are believable as they find their respective escapes within each other and eventually, their own individual resolution and redemption. Copland has a particularly astonishing trajectory and is given incredible complexity and range to explore through his character."​

beyondjames.com



Metamorphoses
February 9, 2020
"The story of Ceyx (Jack Copland) and Alycone (Siobhan Johnson) was one of the highlights of the performance for me. Their relationship as husband and wife was genuinely reflected in their performances."

Joe Szekeres, Inside Looking In




Venus in Fur
August 12, 2019
"Thomas’s charming, self-effacing, yet troubled nature is presented subtly and naturally in Mr. Copland’s performance, and it is in his soulful reactions and facial expressions that we see so much of what is hidden beneath Thomas’s cool facade."

Paul Love, slowcity.ca


“Jack Copland’s performance is stirring.  His opening anger and frustration is neatly controlled, contrasting Vanda’s dervish behaviour.  He carefully depicts the loss of control by moving from big movements to small.  His long speech about whipping is accented with nervous hands wringing and flitting, belying his staged control.  He tries, sometimes with success, to arrest Vanda’s advances with piercing eyes that somehow never blink.  Another highlight is when his face completely changes with the opening salvo of Vanda’s amazing audition.  Again, the small acting space and audience accessibility makes these moments even more profound.  Mentioned earlier, Mr. Copland moves among the three realities of citizen, actor and character.  This requires sharp timing and voice control."
David Rabjohn, onstageblog.com




The Importance of Being Earnest
August 6, 2019

"Jack Copland gives a powerhouse performance as Jack. Whether he’s exasperated by Algernon’s behaviour, struggling against Lady Bracknell’s forbidding attitude, professing his love for Gwendolyn, or attempting to fib his way out of a sticky situation, Mr. Copland does so with full commitment, presenting us an everyman who we can root for but also enjoy laughing at."

Paul Love, slowcity.ca




The Wind in the Willows
July 15, 2019

"A charming Jack Copland as Scottish Badger (in a kilt nonetheless) drew my attention immediately each time he entered the stage. Loved hearing Mr. Copland’s natural sounding accent as it clearly made him distinct from the others."

Joe Szekeres, slowcity.ca




Twelve Angry Men
November 19, 2016
"In his portrayal of Juror #3—the almost exclusively angry jury member—Jack Copland gives a truly powerful performance. Even before his emotional (and for me, chills-inducing) monologue, which concludes the jury’s deliberations, it is evident that his character’s anger is anything but simplistic rage. The complexity and depth of character that Copland brings to this role is, in short, seriously impressive. Indeed, the entire cast is to be commended for their prowess—it is only with their collective talent that the performance could have been as successful as it was."

Meghan O'Hara, stratfordfestivalreviews.com

"One of the standout performances is given by Copland as Juror number three, a role that speaks to the privilege and burden of the paternal figure. He wrestles with his own beliefs throughout the show and he does so with the intensity of a cage match."

Ari Matchen, westerngazette.ca




One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
November 22, 2015
"Copland and Heikkila put forth highly evocative performances, and without their ample chemistry and believability, the production would be without tension or impact."

Lucas Snell, ahscwesternu.com

"Among the leading actors was the effervescent Jack Copland who played wise guy McMurphy. It was no surprise that Copland was the star of the production. His multifaceted voice, priceless expressions and undeniable talent screams for a stage greater than the McManus Theatre."

Samah Ali, westerngazette.ca